A blog for the Female Geek: Dot51

A geek-space for Woman, dotfiveone.com caters to the women who love tech, sci-fi, and all other goodness in the world of the geeky.

For instance in her post on Uhura:

Before I go any further with this, I want to make a few things clear. I do not own a replica Star Fleet Uniform. I do not speak Klingon. I do not have a “Vulcan Science Academy” sticker on my car. I am not *that* much of a geek.

Ok, who am I kidding? I love me some Trek! I’ve been watching Trek in one form or another for 30+ years. I don’t think one can tinker with computers and electrical engineering and miscellaneous geekery and *not* watch Star Trek. It’s in the by-laws or something.

Anyway, the place where Uhura finally gets to speak in more than short, clipped sentences is in “Of Gods and Men”. Now, finish reading this post before you go madly clicking – like the mad Trek fiend that you are – because there are some things you need to know.

But, more than that, she’s trying to highlight the fact that there are tons of women in the world of science and technology, but they don’t always get the play they deserve.

Rock on!

Leave a Reply

