America’s Theme Song

My friends and I were on the way back from eating an over-sized ultra-American breakfast at Burger Master in Seattle, when “Land Down Under,” by Men at Work came on the radio.  Of course, we all started singing along, even “singing” the the sax solo.

Land Down Under has clearly become, in the minds of the world, the unofficial theme song of Australia.  Before that song, who had ever even heard of Vegemite?

Every nation has it’s national anthem.  But, generally, these aren’t very exciting. Now it seems that Australia has gone and gotten itself a theme song too.  That got me thinking,  what is America’s theme song?

I thought about it long and hard, and after careful consideration, I’m throwing “Danger Zone,” by Kenny Loggins in the ring.  This song is over the top, just like us;  it’s loud, just like us;  and it’s oddly both intense and ridiculous at the same time, just like us.  It’s  like “America” by Trey Parker and Mat Stone (of South Park), only serious!

Yep, that’s some serious America time!  (does that make Tom Cruz the ultimate American?)

3 responses to “America’s Theme Song

  1. I like your suggested idea for an American Theme Song, but if Tom Cruise is the ultimate American, I’m outta here. Thanks for visiting my site and commenting today.

  2. Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

